
Minor in possession – PENALTIES 
Section 45-5-624, Montana Code Annotated 

 

 

The “minor in possession” law applies to persons under 21 years of age.  There are different penalties for 

those under age 18 and those age 18 to 20.  MIP citations can be given to underage individuals for possessing 

or knowingly consuming alcohol or other intoxicating substances.  The law does not apply to employment 

situations where it is necessary to possess alcoholic beverages. 

 
Penalties for MIP 

(MCA 45-5-624) 
1st conviction 2nd conviction 3rd conviction 

Fine 

(amount doesn’t include court costs) 

fine of $100 – $300 fine of $200 – $600 fine of $300 – $900 

Attempt to purchase alcohol or other intoxicating substance may result in a fine of up to $150 and 

additional community service. 

Community service 20 hours 40 hours 60 hours 

Jail none none 
Over age 18: up to 6 months in 

the county jail 

Youth Court referral none none 

A person who doesn’t complete 

his/her sentence for an MIP 

received when under age 18 and 

is now over 18 must be 

transferred to the Youth Court.  

Youth Court will determine if the 

person is to be considered as a 

“youth in need of intervention”. 

Drivers license 

confiscated by the court for 30 

days 
suspended for 6 months confiscated for 6 months 

If the person doesn’t complete 

a community-based substance 

abuse information course, the 

court shall order the driver’s 

license to be suspended for an 

additional 3 months1. 

If the person doesn’t complete a 

community-based substance abuse 

information course, the court shall 

order the driver’s license to be 

suspended for an additional 9 

months1. 

If the person doesn’t complete a 

community-based substance 

abuse information course, the 

court shall order the driver’s 

license to be suspended for an 

additional 12 months1. 
1The court shall retain jurisdiction for up to 1 year to order suspension of a license under this section. 

Driver record 

0 points added2 0 points added2 0 points added2 
2MIP convictions are not reported to the Motor Vehicle Division of the Montana Department of Justice.  However, if a judge decides to order the suspension of an offender’s 

driver license, as part of the penalty for the MIP, then the judge sends that MIP conviction to MVD, with the notation that a license suspension is required.  MVD takes the 

appropriate driver improvement action against the offender and records the action in the driver improvement section of the offender’s driving record. 

Any person who drivers while their license or privilege to drive is suspended (or revoked) in Montana or any other jurisdiction may be fined up to $500, sentenced to a 

minimum of 2 days in jail and have an additional 1 year period of suspension or revocation added to their record. 

Information course 

 

Substance abuse 

assessment 

 

Substance abuse 

treatment 

Youth and parents/guardians 

must pay for and complete a 

community based substance 

abuse information course3, if 

one is available. 

Over 18:  must complete an 

alcohol information course 

Youth and parents/guardians must 

pay for and complete a community 

based substance abuse information 

course3, if one is available. 

Over 18:  must complete an alcohol 

information course 

 

Must complete a chemical 

dependency assessment4. 

 

The Judge must order treatment 

based on the assessment findings.  

Youth must complete treatment. 

Youth and parents/guardians must 

pay for and complete a 

community based substance 

abuse information course3, if one 

is available. 

Over 18:  must complete an alcohol 

information course 

 

Must complete a chemical 

dependency assessment4. 

 

The Judge must order treatment 

based on the assessment findings.  

Youth must complete treatment. 
3Substance abuse information course must be completed at one of the following:  DPHHS-approved chemical dependency treatment program, hospital accredited to provide 

chemical dependency services, court-approved program, or program under contract to the Montana Department of Corrections.  

4Assessment must be conducted by a licensed addiction counselor (LAC).  LAC may be part of a DPHHS-approved chemical dependency treatment program, the court, or a 

provider under contract to the Montana Department of Corrections. 
 

 

The court must report MIP convictions to Department of Public Health & Human Services (DPHHS).  DPHHS maintains a list of 

persons convicted of MIP and it is available to law enforcement officers and to any court. 


