
 10.64.201  SCHOOL BUS DRIVER QUALIFICATIONS  (1)  In addition to the 
school bus driver qualifications set forth in 20-10-103, MCA, the Board of Public 
Education requires that school bus drivers must obtain a Montana school bus driver 
certificate (form TR-35) pursuant to the requirements of ARM 10.7.111, by submitting 
proof of the following: 

(a)  a minimum of five years of licensed driving experience; 
(b)  no record of criminal offenses indicating they may be dangerous to children, 

as evidenced by a criminal background check provided to and approved by the school 
district prior to initial employment; 

(c)  a satisfactory report of a physical examination as prescribed by 20-10-103, 
MCA;  

(d)  a current first aid certificate meeting the requirements of ARM 10.7.111; 
(e)  a properly endorsed commercial driver's license (CDL) with continuing 

compliance with all of the requirements associated with that license; and 
(f)  a safe driving record, which may not have evidence of any of the following: 
(i)  more than one moving traffic violation within any 12-month period of the 

preceding 36 months;  
(ii)  any conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs within the 

preceding 36 months; or 
(iii)  a conviction resulting in mandatory revocation or suspension of a driver's 

license in the previous five years. 
 
 
 10.7.111  BUS DRIVER CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 
REIMBURSEMENT  (1)  School bus drivers must hold a valid Montana school bus 
driver certificate in order for a district to receive state reimbursement for that driver's bus 
routes.  Qualifications for bus drivers are prescribed by 20-10-103, MCA, and by the 
Board of Public Education in ARM 10.64.201.  
 (2)  The bus driver certificate forms are provided electronically by the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction.  The school district must input all necessary 
documentation into the Office of Public Instruction's electronic pupil transportation 
system, which generates the completed certificate. The chair of the board of trustees 
signs the certificate which is issued to a driver who is authorized and qualified to drive a 
school bus pursuant to all applicable rules, regulations and laws. The district retains a 
copy of each bus driver's certificate, provides a copy to the bus service contractor, if 
applicable, and files a copy with the county superintendent.  The bus driver is also given 
a hard copy of the certificate, which must be carried at all times while driving a school 
bus. 
 (3)  The first aid certificate required by ARM 10.64.201 must include instruction in 
adult and pediatric CPR, be signed by a certified instructor, and be received after an 
initial in-person training of at least four hours.  The certificate must be renewed every 
two years.  The renewal course may be in-person or online. 
 (4)  State reimbursement for bus transportation for the full school term will be 
made only when a new driver of the bus has completed the first aid requirement within 
60 days from the employment date.  Any bus operated by a driver not so qualified will 
not be eligible for state reimbursement for that portion of the term that the driver is not 
qualified.  Drivers who have driven the previous year must have the first aid requirement 



completed before the expiration date on their certificate.   
 (5)  In the event a district (or contractor) is obligated to employ a driver as a 
replacement for a driver employed at the beginning of the school year, or must employ 
an additional driver, a period of 60 days will be permitted for the new driver to acquire 
the first aid certificate.  If after 60 days following the date of first employment of the 
additional or replacement driver, the first aid requirement has not been met, the bus 
operated by the driver will not qualify for state reimbursement for that portion of the year 
that the driver is not qualified, including the 60-day grace period. 
 (6)  A school bus driver certificate remains valid until the earliest expiration date 
of the commercial vehicle operator's endorsement, the first aid certificate, and/or 
physical examination.  A new certificate must be issued to the driver when any of the 
above items expires and is renewed.  A driver may not operate a school bus without a 
valid, current certificate. 
 (7)  The qualifications of all bus drivers are reviewed at the time the state 
verification of transportation claims is made, as the qualifications of the bus driver are 
one of the criteria for eligibility for reimbursement.  With the exception of (4) and (5), the 
State Superintendent will not reimburse for routes driven by drivers without a current 
certificate on file with the Office of Public Instruction.  If any license, certificate, or 
examination was expired for any period of time, the Office of Public Instruction will 
withhold transportation reimbursement funding for the number of days the driver was 
not qualified. 
 (8)  Districts must retain a signed copy of each bus driver certificate on file for 
audit purposes.   


